Kauai Sure Loves Me!

Sunrise over Hanalei Bay this morning as I jogged along the shore, BAREFOOT!

You know what’s AWESOME about Kauai?  I can leave the house in my panties and nobody thinks twice.  For real!  I did it today… It’s a very warm day (notice that I didn’t say “hot”, though… it’s not sweltering… just… very warm.) and I was wearing my little orange boy short style panties around the house when I was suddenly swept by the call of the wild and decided to hop on one of the bikes on the side of the house and pedal to the bakery to write my blog.  You see, like I said, the day is as perfectly sweet and tart and all liquid sunshine as a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice.  So naturally I wanted to splash around in this vitamin-packed blessing of contained time and space.  On my first day on the island, I saw a woman pumping gas at the Shell Station in her skimpy bikini.  She left a big impression on me.  “Oh, so that’s how we roll here in paradise,” I mused.

Well, my undies are far more conciliatory than her little stringy number was, (I am exaggerating when I say far more… but remember, I poses the proper [poetic] licensing.) so I skipped out of the house and rode into the benevolently embracing folds of the Mystery.  Holy Jesus, you need to understand that this day smiles on my skin with a pristine perfection that hasn’t been seen since the Goldy Locks and the Baby Bear’s porridge incident.

It was the first time I’ve been on a bike since I’ve been here and the experience somehow turned to Bliss in the span of a split banana.  My thoughts were weighty and profound as I petaled to the bakery.  I felt so free in my orange undies and tank top as I sat down, preparing to write my blog.  But GOD, was I fiending for a kombucha.  They cost five dollars and five cents here on the island.  Yep, an expensive (yet highly worthwhile) habit.  With only three dollars left to my name, how could this crafty child of God go about scratching my fermentation itch?  Soon a light bulb appeared above my head and unabashedly flashed ON!  I might have enough money in my bank account to buy one at the adorable, overpriced health food store, the “Healthy Hut”, across the street… I checked my wayward, mainland account from my iPhone.  Yup!  Ten twenty-five!  (I could afford TWO!)  So I marched over and picked the fizziest one in the fridge, a “cosmic cranberry”.  I pulled out my wallet, poised to throw down some holy plastic… SOS!  Sinking heart, call the lifeguard, stat!  I had taken it out of my wallet on account of that there are no Chase banks on the island.  Booooo.  I asked the girl behind the counter if they’d let me pay later.  She said no.

A wilted deprived junkie, I rode back to the bakery.  As I was parking my bike, a wild, tattooed “gentleman” (that was meant to be ironic, he was no gentleman…) exuberantly called to me, “YOU’RE BACK!!!  Will you write me a poem?!”

I tried to get my bearings and catch up to this explosion of a moment.  How did HE know?  I walked over and introduced myself and learned that one of the two women he was sitting with had seen me selling poems at the farmer’s market a while back and suggested that he request a poem.  I “splained” to them that I had only left in heated persuit of a kombucha, which I was denied in the end, and now I was intending to write my blog.  The same instigator of a woman (who for the record was otherworldly gorgeous) suggested that he buy me a kombucha in exchange for a poem.  He oozed with the essence of yes.  So I extended my invisible feelers into him in preparation to give birth to his poem.

But Holy Popcorn! (My new exclamation, thanks to RosyMoon’s recent comment!), was he a slippery, jittery squid of a man.  Apparently, he *really* likes coffee. I mean REALLY.  Yeah, he was flying HIGH.  He refused to share anything of substance about himself.  Instead he orchestrated the entire opperation.  He told me to simply write, without asking any questions, and furthermore, he demanded that I entitle the poem, “the boy who bought me a kombucha”.  Shrug.  Okay.  When push comes to shove, I can follow orders.  Whatever’s clever, Spaceman.  And off he flailed on his sacred liquid mission.

His female companions were clearly fallen stars.  Their light danced playfully about, mixing swimmingly with my own.  They invited me to a full moon women’s circle tonight on Secrets Beach.  Too bad I’m already going to a birthday party on Hanalei Bay… (The outrageous thing about birthday parties on this island is that they are most always on the beach… and EVERYone is invited.  At least that’s how it seems to be… so tonight I will pilgrimage to “Eve’s” birthday party, whom I have never met.  Shrug.  I’m looking forward to it.  And bringing home made black bean dip, since it’s a potluck!)

My erratic, zealous, unruly customer came back with my holy grail full of heavily fizzy wonder juice and I swigged it with a vengeance before diving into the first hand written poem I’ve ever sold.  “The boy who bought me a kombucha” told epic, rambling tales about his existence the whole time.  Meanwhile an amazing poem unfurled through me.  It was vivid, twisty and sobering.  In the end it was in invocation of a deeper layer of his true self, beneath the incessant jester’s dance.  He liked it.  As I read it, I felt like the main character in the movie Dangerous Beauty.

Then it was time for me to head down the street to the farmer’s market and spend my last three dollars on papayas.  Prices really vary, so I sniffed around to find the papayas that were a dollar each, so I could have THREE tender, coral-fleshed little miracles.  The little Pilipino woman told me I could have SIX for five dollars.  “I wish,” I told her… “but I’m down to my very last three dollars.”

And suddenly, three more dollars floated from the very pores of existence.  I swear.  A lady standing next to me said, “Here, now you can get MORE papayas!  …Or get whatever you want… You can’t be down to your last three dollars!”  Her energy was so clean and decisive.  Her giving was joyous and unconditional.  “WOW!  Money is falling from the SKY!” I said through an astonished, wide smile.

Then out came the cucumbers!  They were sleek and big as billy clubs.   “Are those JAPANESE cucumbers???” I asked, mesmerized.  “Yes,” the little hearty Pilipino woman confirmed.  Have you ever had a Japanese cucumber?  They are the crunchiest, coolest, freshest creatures ever to *not* walk the earth.  I paused, heavily considering putting two papayas back.  But before I could say “ticki-ticki-tembo-no-so-rembo-cukey-spooky-goofy-yippee-skippy”, my generous benefactor thrust another two bills at me.  I blinked in astonishment.  She nodded and said, “Don’t worry about it, I have plenty of money.  You stood next to the right woman.”

I told her I usually offer poems by donation.  She said she’d love to have one some day… She comes to the market weekly…

I rode home radiating holy wonder.  It must have been spilling out all over the place, because everyone I passed on my ride home flashed me a beaming smile.  So you see, when I told you that Kauai has splayed herself wide and dripping before me… I was not just blowing gratuitous, self indulgent smoke from slap happy cracks in me.

Thank You… All Pervading Patron In The Sky With Diamonds!!!  I accept your mysterious, loving care!

Amen.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Philip M Cisneros
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 19:29:37

    Love this! Looks like you are open to receiving! Will you be in Kauai in Dec? I will be there! I’ll be staying near Poipu. Let me know!
    Love,
    Phil

    Reply

    • Athena Grace
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 20:40:45

      Phil! I’m SO sorry I missed your b-day party…
      That was *such* a stressful time for me, preparing to move out of my house and leave for tropical paradise…
      YES, I will be here in December and will be D-E-L-I-G-H-T-E-D to play with you here in Heaven!
      That is the BEST news in the world. Really.
      Loving You,
      Athena

      Reply

  2. Naomi Colb
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 07:04:07

    May you continue to remain in the flow and appreciate each moment with the innocence and wonder you express here:) You are a gift and you are being generous with it by sharing your real self and Arete-ing others through your poetry:) Others are getting to be their real self in your presence. This is invaluable!!! Please keep sharing your beautiful raw reality so I and the rest of the world can find our own vocabulary for expressing the miracle of our days with unabashed appreciation for this ride!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

