What IS Grace?

You know what confuses and frustrates the pants off me?  All I *really* want is to realize God.  I mean fully realize the truth of me and you and Everything… but I have all these mental behaviors that seem to dictate otherwise.  You’d think that if I wanted to truly attain Self realization, I’d be single minded in that pursuit.  Why am I not?  I guess I will be someday… and in the mean time, I’ll just flounder around with the best of us, half-assedly loving, serving and Being.  Grrrrr.  Breathe Athena.

I got this totally bitchin’ reading from souldipper (Amy) (souldipper.wordpress.com) Amy is the blogger who channels information from her spirit guides.  In her readings, her spirit guides connect with yours and they can give you very nutritive information regarding your path and life purpose, addressing specific questions.  I feel so blessed to have found Amy, and to have had a reading.  Since the reading, I have felt much more connected to the unseen world in a way that has me feel held, safe, protected, guided, blessed and connected to Universal Love.  My guides reminded me that I am whole and complete NOW, that I need to do/be nothing more.   Wonky how I find this astonishing.  I guess that’s because life is so dynamic and one must keep swimming, or sink… there is always MORE to do, more to be, more to learn.  More to open.  More to release, more to heal.  And paradoxically, we are already full and whole in God’s All Pervading Love and when we are ready, we will beautifully fall from the illusion of time and space.  Shrug.  So now what?

So now, I give great thanks for Amy.  It makes me want to cry how loved I feel.  I mean, I was just plugging along, writing my blog and one day, POOF!, she showed up… made a generous comment on my blog… and since then, her heart and mine have been singing in mild, rapturous harmonies that improve the quality of the universe.  She has helped me realize how far generosity and positavity really do ripple.  She is on the other side of the USA, but… also is she right here in my heart.  If you desire clarity and deeper understanding of yourself and your path at this time, contact her for a reading.  You won’t be sorry.

And not like Amy is the Maha source of Love… I use her as an example of a single flower in the magnificent bouquet of All Pervading Grace.  Grace.  Recently Mykael and my mom and I were all musing on what exactly Grace is.  There was a time when I really thought I knew.  (Dangerous… to portend knowing of anything so vast and all pervading)  I realized that I don’t fully know what Grace is.  I am interested in hearing how YOU perceive Grace.  Please leave a comment and share your ideas on this divine musing.  I just looked it up on dictionary dot com (God bless it) and of the MULTITUDE of definitions they served up, the one that is the closest fit for the meaning that I am driving at is= the FREELY GIVEN, unmerited favor and love of God.  Yup.  That sums it up.  Freely given.  From what I have learned about Grace, that’s what makes it Grace.  You don’t earn it.  There is no question of worth involved.  It is an unabashed ISness that is freely offered to all of us.  Basically, I imagine it to be the Invisible Ocean in which we exist.  The thing that my mom added, which really rang true is that our perception and recognition of Grace influences it, changes it.  You see, those of us who choose to remember Grace are much more receptive to it in the moment to moment life experience.

I want to be Best Friends with Grace.  BFF forever.

Please tell us YOUR thoughts on Grace.

Yesterday, I FINALLY found the guts (God, I LOVE that word, GUTS.  Guts!  Guts!!!!!  I’m laughing out loud as I say over and over, “GUTS!”) to march myself to the farmer’s market with my type writer and serve as the Muse of Poetry, sell poetry to the masses.  This has been a dream of mine for years.  Years.  But I have imagined myself to have a shortage of guts… until yesterday.  Wanna know how much money I made?  TWO FIFTY!  That’s two dollars and fifty cents.  It almost afforded me my artisan green tea this morning!  But that’s not the Point.

What is the Point, Athena Grace?  (Oooh, I think that will be the title of my next book!  “What IS the Point, Athena Grace?”) (Have you ever seen that movie, “The Point”?  I used to LOVE it!)  Anyway, the point is that I LOVE humanity.  I am such a curious human.  I love connecting and allowing people the space to share their hearts, be revealed.  So I asked them “what is in your heart these days?”  And based on their answer, I would write them a poem.

The BEST “client” was a little boy, Emmett, who must have been like… seven???  OMG.  I am gonna cry again.  He was hovering around me and my typewriter with a fascination that weighted at least a million pounds.  His fascination was a portal into authenticity, profundity and a very fresh flush of Love.  He asked me what I was doing.  I told him selling poems.  He asked my name.  I said, Athena.  His jaw plummeted.  “Athena????  That’s a GOD’S name!” was his stunned reply.  I could only smile HARD.  Then he proceeded to rack his brain to remember what she was the “god” of.  After a thoughtful moment, he reported, “She’s the god of… wisdom and… strategic battle.”  Touche, little boy!  I swear his eyes turned to stars and shot to the earth.  I asked him if he wanted a poem.  He said no, he didn’t have any money.  I said I would give him one.  He refused.  I insisted, because it was apparent that he really did want one.  I told him sometimes I just like to give people things… I said if I give him a poem then soon Life will give him an opportunity to give something to someone and he will remember how good it feels and be inspired to make a gracious, liberated offering.  His eyes twinkled in recognition and he said “You really ARE a GOD!”  I was melting all over the place.  I lifted my heart to All Pervading Fuck Yes and typed away for Beloved Emmett.  Meanwhile he kept bantering his astonishment to his small, silent tho’ luminous younger brother (or friend?)  Then I read him the poem and he exploded with wonder and gratitude.  He said “How did your parents know to name you that?”  I told him that my dad saw it on my face.  My heart has not stopped singing since I was blessed by this holy encounter with the forgetful God, Emmett.

Amen.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spirit2go
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 17:32:28

    I love your Emmett story – SERENDIPITY at its finest! Also love your writing. I remember 2 years ago when my beloved husband died, my sister in law said that God knew I had the ‘Grace’ to handle it. And that she didn’t have Grace enough to go through it. What the hell? I thought that was true bullshit – she should have said nothing at all. It certainly didn’t make me feel any better.

    I believe the definition you found for yourself comes as close as any to what I think Grace may be.
    Freely given and unconditional love of God.

    Reply

  2. souldipper
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 19:52:21

    Athena Grace! What a great portrait of GRACE.

    And now I want to read a book – the biography of Emmett who, as a child, met a Goddess in a market who wrote him a love poem. You have transformed that child’s life! Can you imagine!

    Thank you for writing about your Intuitive session. When you emailed me that you were going to have dinner with your Mom (the Ashram-wise Mother), I suspected you would go over some of the Intuitive message with her. I smiled inside believing she would say, “I’ve been trying to get that message across her WHOLE life!”

    Our whole purpose is to embrace and give love and you do that so well. What a delight to have found you! – Love, Amy

    Reply

  3. Rosy Moon
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 20:06:25

    OH MY GOD ESS !!!! Athena!!!! That is amazing, Emmet is amazing, I love being moved to tears, thank you. You really ARE a GOD!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: “SOUL-U-TIONS” « Soul Dipper
  5. ram0singhal
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 03:06:17

    divine……good peace of writing………
    Adds “It is not the requirement of cosmic intelligence that we pray or of any parents.
    prayers are like tiny hands of child wants cosmic intelligence to taste the wonderful cosmos that has created. but mom all different people refer through different names .does not get offended as I easily get angry if somebody do this to me. mom says wisdom comes through kindness. kindness is nature of cosmic intelligence and as child is happy mother is happy.

    happiness is prayers and thanks to cosmic intelligence .
    happy writing….

    Reply

  6. Sally F
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 22:38:00

    Soooo glad you had a recent reminder that you are loved, you are loved and indeed whole-some, and that you took these reminders, along with your typewriter, to the market. A poet! When I imagine seeing you poised to compose, between the radishes and the first peaches of the season, I get giddy. More than whole-some–you are awe-some. I envy Emmett!

    Reply

  7. contoveros
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 00:09:24

    You tapped into a lot of Grace ih your offering to that young boy and he with you.

    ___________________________

    I think Grace is that feeling inside that allows you to see love in all words, deeds and actions. It surfaces when you least expect it, or when you “let go” of thoughts and attempts to control things. It allows you to be compassionate and caring for others — humans and non-humans — and expect nothing in return except for that wonderful feeling of gratitude for being alive in the moment you could bring a little happiness and help aleve a little suffering.

    You can make yourself more available to Grace by doing meritorious acts. Do ’em ’til they become second nature and feel the Grace beaming from Emmett’s smile and the easy flow of words purring from your typewriter.

    God, you stir up a lot of Grace just by posing your question. Thanks,

    michael j

    Reply

    • Athena Grace
      Jun 23, 2010 @ 01:18:15

      Wow Michael J! I DIG with a capital D I G your definition of Grace. Reading it, I opened to instant holiness. Opening to instant holiness… Grace in that moment was reading words that opened me beyond the words to a place of trueness and remembrance. Thank you so much!

      Reply

  8. ram0singhal
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 01:44:39

    divine…………
    Enlightenment in a trice.
    Learn to unlearn for space. Worship of work for pace. Mind to no mind for surface. You to yourself for own face. No one to know one for grace. Touch one to everyone for solace. Shower happiness for human race. Sing new life for life’s ace. Live now for god’s place……no where to now here……..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

